Skip to content

Sunflower Wreath

October 10, 2012

Mike and I were married in July at home in a small garden ceremony. My flower of choice – sunflowers. I love sunflowers because they are so cheery. Although my bouquet and the table center pieces had real sunflowers I had bought several sprays and small bouquets of fake flowers as well just in case. The sprays were never used and they sat in the closet for just over a year while I procrastinated until I finally dug them out to make this super easy wreath…. FINALLY!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What you’ll need:

1 – 12 inch wire wreath form
1/4 Yard burlap, cut into 2 inch wide strips across the width of the fabric
2 Sprays of sunflowers, centers should be approx 2 inches wide
2 Sprays of a complimentary flower, no bigger than a 1/2 inch wide
Glue gun & hot glue

If you plan ahead and take advantage of the craft store coupons you can collect the items needed and make this wreath for about $10.

1. Wrap the burlap around the wire form (like the stripes on a candy cane) to completely cover the form.

2. Remove the heads and leaves of the sunflowers from the stems. Trim your complement flower stems to between .5 – 1 inch.

3. Lay the wreath form on the table and lay the sunflower heads all around the wreath to plan out your spacing. Then poke a small hole into the burlap where you plan to place the sunflower (I used a pencil to do this). Squeeze a small amount of hot glue around the base of the flower head, insert the plastic portion of the flower head in through the hole and press the flower so that the glue adheres to the burlap. Continue this until all the sunflowers have been placed.

4. Now add in the leaves. I strategically placed mine so that I ended up not having any of the burlap showing. Just place a dab of hot glue at the base of the leaf and adhere to the burlap in between the sunflower heads.

5. Now take you complement flower and before gluing just place them throughout the wreath to get the desired spacing. Once your happy with the placement then go back and glue each piece in by adhering the stem to the burlap.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We have a nail in the wall by our front door that I use to display seasonal wreaths. I was able to hang this wreath on that nail without any additional hangar. This is now our summer wreath and every time I look at it it reminds me of our wedding! You could easily swap out the type of flower for one that reminds you of a special occasion.

There is just something about flowers that adds a welcoming touch to any room.

From → Crafts

One Comment
  1. Karen Bailey permalink

    Beautiful! Just like your wedding. Thank you for sharing this.

Leave a comment